RSS

Birthday retreat

07 Aug

I took my dog, and we went and met the Gulf :)

She LOVED it!

padre 3

Cin at Padre

I found peace in the experience, but I’ve confirmed my suspicion that I’m just not one of those people who thrive on interaction with the beach / ocean / seashore. I do, however, find comfort in a relatively close proximity to a coast. Austin satisfies that, and this trip solidified it for me, as well as my drive to greet certain geographic features.

This was my first use of airbnb, and it treated me quite well.

bp1

Blew Pony Bunkhouse

The Gulf Coast is very patchy, and there are many water ways in between land ways. To get from Aransas Pass, where we lodged, to the end-of-the-line true coast, we crossed by one of many little ferries that run a short little jaunt over to Port Aransas, or “Port A”.

port a ferry 3

Port A ferries

First things first: we greeted the Gulf waters. Hello Gulf.

gulf water 1

Next, we hit the beach and enjoyed the Gulf’s warm waters and cool breezes (both in the 80s) for a spell, then headed further south, to check out the beach at Padre before returning to the bunkhouse after much time on the road.

Sadly, I had only the one night’s stay in my budget, but it served my purpose, nonetheless. I awoke in the morning, having completed another trip around the sun since birth, and we packed up to head home, but not without a final farewell to the Gulf at Portland.

portland tx 1

Portland, TX

Cin frolicked some more, and we hit the road.

My favorite pic was the first I snapped, when Cin first ran the shore. It’s a fitting finale :)

gulf cin 1 (2)

Port A Cin

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 08/07/2014 in Action

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Birthday retreat

  1. Jerroll

    08/07/2014 at 9:59 pm

    Happy Birthday :)
    The 6th right?

     

Share your thoughts

 
